Prices updated in real-time via Amazon · As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. | Specs verified against manufacturer datasheets.
A solar generator for camping is a battery power station paired with a foldable solar panel, sized in watt-hours (Wh) for capacity and watts (W) for AC output. For weekend car camping, a 250-300Wh unit covers phones and lights; for CPAP machines or coolers, look at 1,000Wh or more.
Last updated: August 2026
At a Glance: 5 Solar Generators for Camping
| Product | Capacity | AC Output | Solar Recharge (manufacturer-stated) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portable Solar Generator 300W (B0CHFM3V8Q) | ~280Wh (manufacturer-stated) | 300W | Not specified by manufacturer | $169.97 |
| Jackery Solar Generator 300 + 40W Panel | 292Wh | 300W | ~7.5 hrs with included 40W panel | $339.00 |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 + 200W Panel | 1,070Wh | 1,500W | ~6 hrs with included 200W panel | $699.00 |
| Jackery Explorer 300 (power station only) | 292Wh | 300W | Panel sold separately | $259.00 |
| Portable Solar Generator 300W + 60W Panel (B0FKMK7RX5) | ~280Wh (manufacturer-stated) | 300W | Not specified by manufacturer | $170.99 |
I’ve grouped these into two practical tiers below: sub-300Wh units for phone/light/small-device charging, and the 1,070Wh unit for anyone running a CPAP, mini cooler, or laptop plus lighting overnight. If you’re also running a solar-powered cellular trail camera off the same panel ecosystem, the recharge math below matters even more — see our solar panel setups for cellular trail cameras guide for how panel wattage translates to daily amp-hours in the field.
Who Actually Needs a Solar Generator for Camping
If you’re tent camping for a weekend and just need to keep a phone and a headlamp charged, a power bank is cheaper and lighter than any unit on this list. Where solar generators for camping earn their weight is multi-day trips without vehicle access to a 12V outlet, or basecamp setups where you’re running a CPAP, a 12V cooler, or charging camera gear for several days straight without returning to a car.
The math that matters: a 292Wh unit holds roughly enough energy to run a 50W CPAP for about 5-6 hours on a single charge (292Wh ÷ 50W ≈ 5.8 hours, before accounting for inverter losses), or top off a phone 15-20 times. A 1,070Wh unit roughly quadruples that runway. None of the manufacturer product pages I reviewed — Goal Zero, Jackery, RockSolar, EcoFlow — put this math in front of buyers before checkout. They lead with lifestyle photography instead of watt-hour division.
Portable Solar Generator 300W with 60W Solar Panel (B0CHFM3V8Q)
This is the cheapest way into solar camping power in this lineup, and at $169.97 it undercuts the next unit by roughly $170. The bundled 60W panel is a real cost saver — buying a Jackery power station and a separate panel typically costs more than this bundle’s total price.
The tradeoff shows up in the spec sheet itself. Goal Zero, Jackery, and EcoFlow all publish a specific solar recharge time (hours to full charge under rated sun) on their product pages; this unit’s listing doesn’t. That’s not necessarily a dealbreaker, but it means you’re estimating recharge time yourself rather than working from a manufacturer number, which matters if you’re planning a trip where you need the unit topped off by a specific hour each day.
At 1,900 reviews and a 4.1 average, this sits below the 4.5+ ratings you’ll see on the Jackery units later in this list. A 4.1 average with that review volume typically reflects a mix of satisfied budget buyers and a meaningful minority reporting capacity fade or charging inconsistency — worth reading recent reviews before buying if you’re planning a trip more than a few months out.
Who it’s for: Weekend campers who need phone, headlamp, and maybe a Bluetooth speaker charged, and who want the lowest entry price with a bundled panel.
Who should look elsewhere: Anyone running a CPAP, cooler, or camera gear overnight — the ~280Wh capacity won’t cover multi-day loads, and the missing recharge-time spec makes trip planning harder.
Jackery Solar Generator 300 and 40W Solar Panel (B0G429L5B4)
The jump from the sub-$170 bundles to this one is $170 — effectively double — and what you’re paying for is documented specs and LiFePO4 battery chemistry, which Jackery states is rated for significantly more charge cycles than standard lithium-ion before capacity degrades below 80%.
The 40W panel is the bottleneck here. A ~7.5-hour recharge time under full manufacturer-rated sun means in practice — with morning shade, tree cover, or partial cloud, which is the norm rather than the exception on most camping trips — you’re realistically looking at a full day of sun exposure to top off from empty. If you’re setting up camp at 2pm, don’t expect a full charge by dinner.
At 167 reviews, this is the thinnest review sample in this lineup by a wide margin — the Explorer 300 below has over 11,000. A 4.4 average on 167 reviews is a reasonable signal but a much smaller sample size than I’d want before trusting long-term reliability claims.
Who it’s for: Buyers who specifically want LiFePO4 chemistry and a manufacturer-published recharge time for trip planning, and who are comfortable with a full day of sun to recharge from empty.
Who should look elsewhere: Anyone who needs faster recharge — pair the Explorer 300 power station with a higher-wattage panel separately instead of buying this slower-panel bundle.
Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 and 200W Solar Panel (B0D2L1G66J)
This is the unit I’d point toward if you’re running a CPAP overnight, keeping a 12V cooler cold for a multi-day trip, or charging a laptop plus camera gear at basecamp. The math: at 1,070Wh, a 50W CPAP theoretically runs for roughly 21 hours (1,070 ÷ 50) before accounting for inverter losses — meaning multiple nights on a single charge if you’re topping it off with the panel during the day.
The 1,500W AC ceiling is a real functional difference versus the 300W units above — it opens up running a small electric kettle, a hair dryer briefly, or other higher-draw appliances that would trip or overload the 300W units instantly. But that same 1,500W capability means a high-draw appliance will drain the 1,070Wh battery fast; this isn’t a home backup unit, it’s a camping-scale battery, and treating it like whole-appliance backup will disappoint you.
The 200W panel’s manufacturer-stated ~6-hour recharge assumes full, unobstructed sun. In a forested campsite with partial canopy — which describes most established campgrounds in the eastern US — expect that number to stretch meaningfully longer. Panel placement matters as much as panel wattage here.
Who it’s for: Multi-day car campers or basecamp setups needing to run a CPAP, cooler, or multiple devices without returning to a vehicle for days.
Who should look elsewhere: Weekend campers who only need phone and light charging — this is oversized capacity and nearly $530 more than the entry-level bundles above for a need you may not have.
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station (B082TMBYR6)
This is the power station half of a solar generator setup — Jackery sells the Explorer 300 without a panel, meaning you’re buying the battery and choosing your own solar panel separately. At $259 for the power station alone, plus a panel purchase, your all-in cost typically lands close to or above the Jackery Solar Generator 300 bundle above, so the value case here is really about the review data: 11,100 reviews at a 4.6 average is the strongest reliability signal in this entire list by a wide margin.
If you already own a compatible solar panel — from a previous power station or a standalone purchase — buying just the Explorer 300 power station lets you avoid paying for a panel you don’t need. If you’re starting from zero, factor in a panel purchase before comparing this price against the bundled options above.
Who it’s for: Buyers who already have a solar panel, or who want the most-reviewed unit in this comparison and are comfortable sourcing a panel separately.
Who should look elsewhere: First-time buyers who want a complete solar generator for camping out of the box — you’ll need to add a panel purchase to this price before it’s actually functional off-grid.
Portable Solar Generator 300W with 60W Foldable Solar Panel (B0FKMK7RX5)
At $170.99, this sits within two dollars of the other budget 300W/60W bundle above, and the spec sheets are close enough that the deciding factor is really which listing has better current reviews and stock availability at the time you buy. The 4.2 rating on 1,800 reviews is marginally better than the other budget option’s 4.1 on 1,900 reviews, but both numbers sit meaningfully below the 4.4-4.6 range of the Jackery units.
As with the other budget bundle, the missing solar recharge time spec is the practical gap versus the Jackery-branded options. If precise trip planning around recharge windows matters to you, that missing number is worth weighing against the roughly $170 price gap to the Jackery 300 bundle.
Who it’s for: Budget-conscious weekend campers comparing the two sub-$175 bundles in this list — pick based on current review trends at time of purchase.
Who should look elsewhere: Buyers who want documented LiFePO4 chemistry and a published recharge time — the Jackery bundles above cost more but publish the specs this listing doesn’t.
Buying Guide: How to Size a Solar Generator for Camping
Capacity (Wh) determines how long you can run devices between charges; AC output (W) determines what you can plug in at all. A 300W AC ceiling handles phones, laptops, LED lanterns, and most camera charging. It will not run a hair dryer, electric kettle, or space heater — those typically draw 800W-1,500W and need a unit like the 1,070Wh/1,500W option above.
Solar recharge time is the number competitor pages underplay. A panel’s wattage rating (40W, 60W, 200W) is measured under ideal full-sun conditions. Cloud cover, morning haze, and tree canopy all reduce real-world charging speed — sometimes by 30-50% compared to the manufacturer-stated number. If a listing doesn’t publish a recharge time at all, as with the two budget bundles above, that’s a sign to test it on a short trip before relying on it for a week-long stay.
For campers pairing a power station with outdoor lighting rather than a full appliance load, our guide to solar-powered outdoor lights covers standalone lighting options that don’t need a separate generator at all. And if budget is the primary constraint, our 4Patriots solar generator review covers another value-tier option worth cross-referencing against the bundles above.
For the full range of solar power gear we’ve covered — panels, power stations, and off-grid charging setups — see our full solar and power category.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the best solar-powered generators for camping?
The best choice depends on load: sub-300Wh units like the Jackery Solar Generator 300 or Explorer 300 suit phone and light charging on weekend trips, while 1,000Wh+ units like the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 handle CPAP machines, coolers, and multi-day basecamp setups. There’s no single best unit — match capacity to your actual device list.
What will a 3000 watt solar generator run?
A 3,000W AC output can run power tools, a microwave, a coffee maker, or a small space heater — none of the units in this comparison reach that output; the highest here is 1,500W. For 3,000W-class needs, look at larger home-backup-oriented units, which trade portability for output.
How long will a 1000 watt solar generator run?
Runtime depends on watt-hour capacity, not watt output. The 1,070Wh unit in this comparison runs a 50W CPAP for roughly 21 hours, or a 100W device for about 10 hours, before accounting for inverter losses of roughly 10-15%.
What is the best solar charger generator for camping?
For most weekend campers, a 292Wh unit with a documented recharge time — like the Jackery Solar Generator 300 bundle — balances price, portability, and predictable recharging. Multi-day or CPAP users should size up to 1,000Wh or more.
Do solar generators work on cloudy days?
Yes, but at reduced output. Solar panels still generate power under cloud cover, typically at 10-30% of rated wattage depending on cloud density, which means recharge times can stretch well beyond the manufacturer-stated full-sun figure.
Can I run a mini fridge on a 300Wh solar generator?
A 292Wh unit can run a low-draw 12V cooler (typically 40-60W) for roughly 5-7 hours continuous, but a compression-style mini fridge with higher startup draw may exceed the unit’s AC output ceiling or drain it within a single overnight cycle.
Is LiFePO4 better than standard lithium-ion for camping power stations?
LiFePO4 batteries are manufacturer-rated for substantially more charge cycles before capacity drops below 80%, which matters for buyers who’ll recharge frequently over multiple seasons. Standard lithium-ion units are typically less expensive upfront but may show capacity fade sooner with heavy use.
Do I need to buy a separate solar panel if the power station doesn’t include one?
Yes — a power station without a bundled panel, like the Explorer 300 in this comparison, only recharges from a wall outlet or car adapter unless you add a compatible solar panel separately, which adds to the total cost.
